For a better experience on Cayman Islands Monetary Authority, update your browser.

International Agreements

Under the Monetary Authority Act, the Cayman Islands Monetary Authority can enter into memoranda of understanding (MOU) with other overseas regulatory authorities to facilitate information exchange and other assistance between CIMA and these bodies.

Thus far, CIMA has entered into 58 bilateral agreements and 8 multilateral agreements with regulatory authorities in the Caribbean, Asia, Europe, Middle East, United Kingdom, United States of America and Canada. These include agreements with leading authorities such as the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) and Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC) in the USA, the UK Financial Services Authority (FSA) and the International Organization of Securities Commissions (IOSCO).

Negotiations with other overseas regulatory authorities are ongoing.